Fashion / Interviews / Voncel's Reflection

Interview with Stylist Ashley Burks [iamyourstylist]

T

MIZZB13

“Fashion to me is what you wear, while style is how you wear it!” ~Ashley Burks

Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?
Ashley Burks is a Brand Artist! Burks’ brands people by styling them and creating their professional image, just as you would a company.
After modeling and styling in the fashion industry for several years, she found her place in the behind-the-scenes world of fashion.
Background:
This fashion stylist turned journalist has a love for everlasting style, fashion, music and entertainment. She captures and expresses her love for all things fashion through her styling work and fashion lifestyle blog.
Ashley gained valuable industry knowledge and extended her network through participation in many elite projects and study at the Art Institutes.
Education:
Ashley attended the Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale, where she built her fashion styling career. She then transferred to the Art Institute of Atlanta, where she graduated Cum Laude and received Best of Show for her graduate portfolio.
She is currently pursuing her master’s degree in New Media Journalism at Full Sail University.
“I create works of Art! I call them Brand Masterpieces!” ~Ashley Burks
Brand Artist x Journalist
Professional Interests: Fashion, Retail, Styling, Journalism, Social Media, PR, Visual Merchandising
Unprofessional Interests: Reading, Writing, Fitness, and Meditating

What does fashion mean to you?
“Fashion to me is what you wear, while style is how you wear it!” ~Ashley Burks

Please tell me about your long-term career goals for Fashion stylist?
I have been styling since I was 15 years old. Styling will always be my first love. My long-term career goals as a stylist are to gain more noteworthy clients, and be published in top magazines such as V, The W, Wallpaper, Nylon, and Vogue. I plan to travel the world, style for major publications, and record my journey as I go along.

2f820fa41eb92c1b90f1890a45442f03

Model: Camaree Barr

Photographer: Darius Voncel Marshall

Please tell me the top 2 of your greatest weaknesses that related to Fashion stylist? And how do you improve them?
• Always wanting to please the client. (I balance what the client wants with what the client needs.)
• My personal style can sometimes overpower the client. (I work hard to give each client their own personal image instead of giving them my style. Its common for clients to say, “I want to dress like you.”

What are key tasks for Fashion stylist?
• Build relationships
• Stay Current & Relevant
• Research, Research, Research
• Make an lasting impression

image6

Various Models

Stylist: Ashley Burks

Photographers: Calven Mitchell/ Ashley Lashae/ Charissa Cortez/ Adam Kaplan/ Humberto Vidal/ Tyson Alan Horne

How do you prepare for a photo shoot when it comes to styling?
I have a special system I have developed over the years to prep for photo shoots. I start with researching the client, brainstorming a theme, and creating a checklist/outline of what needs to be accomplished. I then gather all parties needed such as the photographer, hair and makeup artists, models, wardrobe assistants, designers, boutiques, and videographers. I mentally prepare myself by getting into what I call “IamYourStylist mode”, where I focus solely on what the client wants in relation to what the public declares as trendy with an IamYourStylist touch!

What or who inspired you to become a fashion stylist?
I was inspired to be a fashion stylist for multiple reasons. I started modeling at the age of six. I knew I loved modeling, but I was more intrigued with the behind-the-scenes life of modeling. I started styling runway shows, personal shopping clients and people for events. I found more joy in dressing people and creating the results. Also, my style has always attracted on-lookers and clients that would ask me how to purchase or create similar looks.

bizcardcollage

What’s the process? Will you help me make outfits from my existing wardrobe or do we have to go shopping?

As a fashion and personal stylist, I can create looks from your existing wardrobe and help you build off of what you already have. Or I can shop with you or for you. After, gaining knowledge from the client on the professional look they want to achieve, I can brand that client into a brand masterpiece! I don’t just style my clients; I brand them, so that they have a professional image that works universally across their industry.

First things, first… I complete an image consultation with all my clients.
Image Consultation: Formulated to find the best clothing and accessory options to build your professional image. Learn your body type and complete a color analysis. Receive shopping suggestions and advice based on your body type. Client will receive the My Professional Image packet upon completion. Lets talk body type, fashion, style, and build your professional image! **Hourly Fee**

I also my complete a wardrobe consultation if needed.
Wardrobe Consultation: Out with the old and in with the new! Evaluate, eliminate and organize unnecessary clutter to make room for your new wardrobe. Also compare old pieces that can be used to mix and match with new pieces. Lets make way for the new pieces you will love! **Hourly Fee**

To find out more about my services and booking follow this link: Styleseat

1013119_10151604917699272_1740205617_n

Model: Cindy

Photographer: Rob Morton

Where are your go-to places to shop?
• Urban Outfitters
• Local Boutiques
• Vintage shops
• Pac Sun
• H&M
• Bebe
• Guess

Why do you think so many people are interested in fashion?
I believe so many people are interested in fashion because fashion is a lifestyle. You cant live without fashion. It’s all around you. From your clothes, to the furniture in your house, from draperies to your carpet, they’re all apart of fashion.

281526_451237661594236_1595149452_n

Model: Krystal Marrow

Photographer: Darius Voncel Marshall

Who are your favorite fashion stylist or fashion designers?
Stylists
• Mel Ottenberg
• Camilla Nickerson
• June Ambrose
• Rachel Zoe
• Olori Swank
Fashion Designers
• Chanel
• Balmain
• Chloe
• Givenchy
• Marc Jacobs
• Lanvin

Whom have you done fashion styling for?
A slew of clients along the east coast. For my updated client list check out this link: clients.

What’s the best fashion trend you’ve ever seen?
The best fashion trend I have ever seen…. This is a difficult question for a stylist and lover of fashion. So many trends are beneficial for different reasons. One trend I love is palazzo pants.

DSC_8668

Palazzo Pants — Instead of drowning you in fabric, Palazzo pants actually elongate your frame and slims you down. As long as you pair them with super-tall platforms and more structured layering pieces like a chic blazer or long vest, these can be way chicer than you’d think. 

18896_634836479867061_1006711096_n

Models: Camaree Barr (left) & Jasmine Jones (right)

Photographer: Darius Voncel Marshall

What celebrity do you think has the best style?

  • Rihanna (She keeps it fresh, exciting, edgy, and it speaks her personality.)
  • Kanye West (He keeps his fans guessing, and only rocks the newest and hottest.)

What are some of your top accomplishments?

  • Featured in Baltimore Sun newspaper.
  • Styling for Mercedes Benz fashion week in Miami.
  • Styling and creatively directing The Hip-Hop Timeline Runway show & event for the Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale.
  • Fashion coordinating for the American Socialitez, Kilioni Lee, and Sadiq Fade.
  • Creative director (models/volunteers) for Sheen Magazine 1st Annual Anniversary Party.
  • Contributing stylist/blogger for Lucky Magazine, Ai Insite, 25andOlder.com, Yadiyda, HOBI and Evolution of SHE.
  • Graduated Cum Laude from the Art Institute of Atlanta with a Bachelor’s of Arts in Fashion Retail & Management.
  • Received Best Graduate Portfolio for Fashion Retail & Management program at the Art Institute of Atlanta.

189958_467074826677186_305759348_n

Photographer: Darius Voncel Marshall

 

Where can readers find out more about you and your work?

Readers can find out more about my journey and my work by following the links below.

http://iamjournalistburks.com

Portfolio

Styleseat

Google+

LinkedIn

Facebook

Twitter

Email: iamjournalistburks@gmail.com

Ashley, as always your are so much fun to work with, and  I am so proud of you and all of your accomplishments. So glad were have been able to share our talents together and make majic!

2 thoughts on “Interview with Stylist Ashley Burks [iamyourstylist]

Leave a Reply

