Interviews / Make Up / Voncel's Reflection

Interview With Make-Up Artist Barbara Blair [Lash Lotus]

482869_525689134149088_1221566512_n

“Go for your dreams as an artist and remember each face is your Picasso or Monet.”

Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

I am what I proclaim a “forecaster of makeup” to some that statement up it means I look at all the elements around me whether it is a different season or it could even be a sunset I let nature guide me in a major way. I was born and raised in the lovely state of Mississippi. I am a graduate of Mary Holmes College, Pivot Point, Georgia Medical Institute, International School of Skin and Nails, Rising Sun Yoga, Xtreme Lash and Gwynnis Mosby Makeup Academy. Skincare and fitness are my professional interests. Nature and traveling are my non professional interest.
 What is a day in your life like? Hectic!!

4cc69017b078_611263_720x540

Non stop, even when I sleep the wheels are still turning.
 How did your career begin in the world of beauty?

Seeing my mother and grandmother glam out daily.
How would you describe your signature look and what is it about your style that sets you apart from other makeup artists?

My signature look is creating an illusion in the eyes which is known to be the window to the soul. What sets apart from other artist is I remember my canvas is priceless and it can never be duplicated.
 What is the most memorable moment you have had while doing someone’s makeup?

90424f97-b6c_606729_720x540

My client couldn’t believe it was her. It was if I had given her a cosmetic surgery without the incision.
 What is the most important beauty advice that you can give to women?

Concealor
 What are some common beauty mistakes that women make?

Improper illusion of eyebrows
 Do you feel that looking and feeling beautiful is important in regard to a woman’s confidence and self-esteem?

Absolutely, the reflection of beauty helps everyones self esteem.

 

securedownload-1
 What are your goals as a makeup artist?

To bee the Claude Monet of makeup.
 Who are some people that have inspired you as a makeup artist?

-Gwynnis Mosby,

-J Erick Blair,

-Sam Fine,

-Iman,

-Cleopatra

-Max Factor.
 Do you see yourself someday creating your own line of makeup?

No
 What are some of your favorite products in your makeup kit?

Lancome concealer and Iman bronzer.
 What’s your favorite concealer of all time?

Lancome
 What products do you think should be a staple in every woman’s purse?

Nude lip gloss
 Do you believe that sometimes less is more?

No, that only applies when you are asleep.

FOH3-20130606-080458_1_1
 What tips can you give to young women who want to start preparing their skin in advance for a special event like prom?

Cleanse, tone, moisturize and drink water.
 What message do you have for women out there aspiring to be make up artist?

Go for your dreams as an artist and remember each face is your Picasso or Monet.

1074191_593696164014364_54462162_o-1

StyleSeat

Leave a Reply

