Fashion / Interviews / Make Up / Voncel's Reflection

Interview with Make Up Artist Rosalyn Martin

1013173_10201044057096808_1239102114_n

 “It’s imperative to be knowledgeable about the skin in order to better serve the client and assist them with the proper techniques to achieve the desired results”

1. Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?
-My name is Rosalyn Martin. I was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, but I was raised in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. I have lived in Atlanta since i was 20 years old. I have 9 months of Graphic Design schooling at The Art Institute of Atlanta, but now I am in the Aesthetics Program at the Atlanta School of Massage and Aesthetics. My general professional interests are makeup and holistic healing and wellness. My non-professional interests are drawing, singing, travelling, shopping (i love to thrift lol its like a treasure hunt!), and anything dealing with color and design.

2. What is a day in your life like?
-A day in my life is like being on a brand new rollercoaster ride. You will see all different kinds of people and there is no telling what will happen next. I love different types of people, so I surround myself with creative individuals from all walks of life.

263942_2066503675406_3109486_n

3. How did your career begin in the world of beauty?
-I began my career in the world of beauty as an aspiring model. I paid a makeup artist and I wasnt satisfied with my second look and I said to myself ‘I can do that. why pay someone money to do something I can do myself??’ So I started doing my own makeup and it was a snowball effect. My friends who were aspiring to be photographers would call me and ask me to do my makeup and model for them so they could practice taking shots and doing concept shoots. After a while, other photographers would contact me to model and notice that I did my own makeup and call me later to do makeup for their clients.

4. How would you describe your signature look and what is it about your style that sets you apart from other makeup artists?
-I wouldnt say I have a ‘signature look’. I am more customer service oriented. I love to give the client EXACTLY what they want. I love doing dramatic/artistic looks, however, I really just love to bring an idea to life, whether its a natural soft look or a crazy dope high fashion look. I dont stick to any particular style. Its like art and design to me, just on someones face. LOL

246837_1959799207861_1863265_n

5. What is the most memorable moment you have had while doing someone’s makeup?
-The most memorable moment I had while doing someones makeup was when I did a gospel choir for a performance. There was this one particular lady and her skin was really bad and scarred all over her cheeks. Some would call her skin ‘crater skin’. She looked very self conscious about it. She kept her head down until she got in my chair. I gave her a mirror and told her that she could look periodically at what I was doing t her face because I wanted her to feel comfortable. She said she didnt wear makeup alot at all. I made sure I blended the make up very well to ‘conceal’ her scars. When I was done, she looked at her face and her eyes welled up with tears. She told me how happy she was and kept saying how pretty she thought she looked. She just kept touching her cheeks and saying over and over ‘Look at me…im pretty….im pretty…’She continued to thank me and apologized for almost crying her makeup off. I assured her that it was ok, and that I could fix whatever she cried off. My most rewarding experience was to be able to help her see herself in a different light.

6. What is the most important beauty advice that you can give to women?
-The most important beauty advise that I would give to women is to take care of your skin!!!! Most women do not even know their skin type or how to properly care for their skin. If you don’t know your skin type, its difficult to determine what products you should be using on your skin. Everyone’s genetic makeup is different, and will respond differently to different products. Also, there are so many factors that can contribute to skin problems and most don’t know their ‘triggers’ for outbreaks.

309763_2272012292993_1819209992_n

7. What are some common beauty mistakes that women make?
-Common beauty mistakes women make is not knowing how to properly care for their skin and not properly ‘prepping’ their skin for makeup (like NOT using moisturizer and primer before putting on foundation) Another mistake is not cleaning their makeup brushes regularly, which can cause breakouts.

8. Do you feel that looking and feeling beautiful is important in regard to a woman’s confidence and self-esteem?
-ABSOLUTELY!!! Everyday you are the first to see your face in the morning. When you don’t look good, you don’t feel good. We are very vain, visual creatures and it’s so important to be happy with oneself. Whether most believe it or not, that starts with your face. Everyone else sees your face more than you do and if you aren’t happy with your own face it can definitely change how you live your life on a very large scale.

300701_2272041653727_1244217696_n

9. What are your goals as a makeup artist?
-My goal as a makeup artist is to eventually do makeup for movies and film.

10. Who are some people that have inspired you as a makeup artist?
-Kevin Aucoin
-Sam Fine
-Nikoletta Skarlatos

11. Do you see yourself someday creating your own line of makeup?
-Yes i do. Probably a line of makeup that would be mineral based and healthy for the skin.

73075_1565986922800_7887540_n

12. What are some of your favorite products in your makeup kit?
Some of my favorite products in my makeup kit are Watermelon
-Fizz Blush by Amazing Cosmetics
-MAC Studio Sculpt Foundation-
-MAC’s Lightful Softening Lotion.

13. What’s your favorite concealer of all time?
-Dermablend has great concealers. I like them because its for people with skin disorders such as Vitiligo, large birthmarks, especially peole that have tattoos and still need that ‘professional’ look for the workplace environments that aren’t so accepting of them. The line has GREAT coverage and can last all day!

271424_2066504195419_6126632_o

14. What products do you think should be a staple in every woman’s purse?
-MAC’s Lip Conditioner and Waterproof mascara!

15. Do you believe that sometimes less is more?
-I do believe that less is more. Makeup is just to enhance what you already have, not cover it up completely.

182667_1725944041628_6987095_n

16. What tips can you give to young women who want to start preparing their skin in advance for a special event like prom?
-Drink plenty of water and take care of your skin by using a daily regimen of cleanser, toner, moisturizer and SPF, Exfoliate at least once a week-more depending on ones skin type. It doesnt hurt to start getting facials 1-2 months prior to make sure you get your skin under control if you have issues.

17. What message do you have for women out there aspiring to be make up artist?
-Educate yourself about the skin. Get your Esthetician’s License and attend a school for Makeup Artistry. Build a solid foundation. It is important to know how the skin works because it is a living breathing canvas. It’s imperative to be knowledgeable about the skin in order to better serve the client and assist them with the proper techniques to achieve the desired results.

156114_3655160030822_834041581_n

18. Where can readers find out more about you and your work?
Readers can find more about my work on my website at http://www.themakeupartisan.com or on social media websites such as
Facebook (www.facebook.com/rosalynyvonne1)
Instagram (@makeupartisan)
Twitter (www.twitter.com/makeupartisan).

Rosalyn you are truly remarkable! Thank you so much for spending time with Voncel’s Reflection.

I wish you much success in the future!!!

-xoxoxo-

Leave a Reply

