Fashion / Interviews / Photography / Voncel's Reflection

Voncel’s Reflection Interview with Fashion Portrait Photographer [Blair Robinson]

candylane

“Photography is freedom.  Freedom to show the world what it is…or what you wish it would be”

Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests? What is the name of your company?

-I can tell you I have been staring at this question for the last 5 minutes trying to find out where to start.  I’m a self taught Atlanta based fashion and fashion portraiture photographer from Chicago.  I birthed Pheauxtography by DeVereaux, LLC this year when I found the courage to transition my hobby into a business and pursue my most passion and purposed filled life.

I love all things art.  I actually studied at South Carolina State University where I got my B.F.A. in Theatrical Arts.  Acting is still a love of mines even though I’ve focused more on photography .  I try to honor my roots by bringing cinematic temperature and narrative to my work.

What does photography mean to you?
-Photography is freedom.  Freedom to show the world what it is…or what you wish it would be.  Freedom to be fearless.  Freedom to be afraid.  Freedom to be honest and present yet creatively inaccurate and omniscient.  Photography is my voice when words  are too loud.

When did you realized you wanted to become a photographer?
-Its going to sound extremely cheesy and cliché but Photography became me.  It kept popping up around every corner.  It just got to a point where I was like “ ah you again…FINE….LETS DO THIS.”

1308__MG_8893_Margo_-Edit-Edit-2-Edit

What was the very first thing you captured through your lens?
-A lot of technical crimes to photography.  It was a time where I did and tried everything.  I made lots of mistakes then but I had some of the most fun during the days.  There was no pressure to nail a shot or impress a client.  I shot for me.  It’s actually a challenge I’ve charged myself as I grow closer to my dreams.  To never lose that kid who just wants to play; that’s the struggle.

What was your very first camera?
-My first camera was a Nikon D5000.  I remember thinking, “ I’m big time.  I spent $700 on this camera.  I am a professional now!!!” Sad thing is, it stayed on automatic the entire time. Smh lol

DarciDaye

Out of all of your work, which is your favorite so far?
-That’s hard.  It’s like asking a parent to pick their favorite child (even though we all know they have one).  There are different moments my pictures signify that I’m proud of.  One of the pictures I’m most proud of would be the capture of Noel and Caitlin on the beach.  I shot that 3 years ago prior to any of my training, yet I think the emotional temperature of that shot mutes any technicalities.  Its cinematic.  It has narrative.  The shot has something universal which begs to be felt.  It’s one of the few images from the start of my career which is still in my portfolio to this day.

Whose work has influenced you the most?
-I’ve been inspired by so many photographers recently.  Annie Lebovitz, Lindsay Adler, Derek Blanks are all photographers I highly respect.  I would have to say the one who has influenced my current portfolio the most is Sue Bryce.  After taking all of her classes on creative live I implemented natural light studio shoots into my company and it has changed everything.  She helped me connect my passion to my purpose and forced me become not only a photographer who knows how to serve his client, but also a business man who knows how to ask for his worth in return.

carprint

How old are you? Are you currently studying at a University? What has that experience been like?
-I am 24 years old and I plan on taking over the world by 30.

What has been one of the most significant things in your growth as an artist?
-Learning my worth and being present in my journey.  I’ve learned to own my path.  To be proud of where I’ve come from and excited in where I am going.  Learning how to live life from a place of gratitude instead of scarcity.  Eradicating those personal blocks allowed me to see beauty in everything.  Life. People. Myself.  It has become my personal mission as an artist to help others find what I’ve found.  That is my true passion.  Helping people reach their most honest, confident, and fulfilled self.  Photography is my way of helping them capture that moment.

 

Do you have any big goals and dreams as a creative photographer? Where would you like to be and what would you like to do with your creative life?
-Find Freedom.

Who are your biggest inspirations?
-Outside of my parents.  Sue Bryce is definitely one of them.  She believed.  She created.  And now she is.  What more could you ask for.

Can you describe your creative process from conception, to creation, to perfection/editing?
-I’m still discovering my process.  Everything is still a little jumbled as I find my focus and develop my style.  Right now its all pretty simple.  I conceive.  I shot. I edit. I share. : )

1306_IMG_6971_kate cheeves_-Edit-Edit

 

Can you give some advice to all the young artists in our society who look up to you?
-Don’t be embarrassed of your light.  We find ourselves dimming what makes us special in an effort to make those around us feel more comfortable.  But how awesome would it be if you gave others permission to find their light after seeing yours shine…

Would you describe your personal style as a photographer?
-Handcrafted.

Where can readers find out more about you and your work?
-Easy.  My website www.pheauxtography.com or any of my social networks: instagram: @pbd twitter: @pheauxtography tumblr: www.pheauxtography.tumblr.com and facebook: www.facebook.com/pheauxnominal

 Do you have a favorite quote? Tell us why it’s meaningful to you?
-My favorite quote is actually the metaphorical welcoming matt for my company.  I normally present it when I am reaching out to potential clients.  “Happiness is not in the next ten pounds lost.

You won’t find it in money, things, or even people.

Happiness has never been a when but a why.

Sometimes the hardest part of the journey is believing you are worthy of the trip.

Pheauxtography isn’t for those who think that happiness only lives in tomorrow.

It’s for those who know that they are skinny enough, curvy enough, beautiful enough, and good enough today.

It’s for those who longed for a best friend and found it in themselves.

For your journey has never been to find

happiness, but to seek and find all the barriers within

yourself you have built up against it.

You are worth it now.

You are Pheauxnomenal,

and it is selfish to deny to yourself or anyone else the beauty that is you.

Let my lens be your eyes, and see yourself as beautiful as I do.”

Describe your ideal vision in five years?
-I have it all in my head.  But I have to leave some mystery.  Plus I can’t have anyone trying to steal my future Trump Checks lol

beach preview

 

What has been the secret to your success so far?
-No secret.  God has given me so much confirmation that I am going down the right path that I feel my purpose is ordained.  I honestly feel that no one and nothing is capable of stopping me from attaining everything my heart desires, but me.  I’m getting to a point where my ambition is out growing my fears and my logic is being shadowed by my faith.  I don’t aim for success I aim for gratitude.  Success is active and something you always have to be in pursuit in, gratitude is a state of being. In that state, you find that the real success in life comes in-between your triumphs and lessons and sits humbly in their echoes.

THAT WAS DEEP lol : )

 

Blaaaiiirrrr!!!! : )

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to spend with Voncel’s Reflection. You are truly a talented young man! God has huge things coming your way! Love ya!

-D-

Leave a Reply

