Interviews / Make Up / Voncel's Reflection

Voncel’s Reflection Interview with Celebrity Makeup Artist [Phoebe Dawson]

 

makeupme2

“When you feel beautiful and good about yourself you can show up in the world in a more empowered way, give more, be more, do more.” 

Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your educational background? What are your general professional and non-professional interests?

My name is Phoebe, I grew up in Nelson New Zealand, dropped out of high school to work full-time and save money to move to Australia and study Makeup, When I was 17 I moved to Australia, Brisbane, then Sydney, found the best makeup school, studied there in Sydney full-time for a year while working a few jobs on the side, living in a high rise luxury apartment with 10 single people all from different countries which was a lot of fun! I also would set up photo-shoots in my spare time to build my portfolio, so I really didn’t sleep much. Then I decided I wanted to move to LA, to work in Hollywood, the land of opportunities where there was no limits to what I could be and do. So I moved to LA alone at 19, not knowing anyone, how to drive, not much money at all.  First I worked as a waitress and assisted some amazing top celebrity makeup artists closely for the first 2 years here, then I broke out on my own full-time. I have been freelancing as a makeup artist full-time on my own the last 2 ish years and I also recently signed with my new agent DGReps.  Im very driven,  motivated and I love to always be growing, learning, improving and moving to the next level.

What is a day in your life like for Phoebe Dawson?

What I LOVE about being a makeup artist is that there is no typical day for me, every single week I am in a new location meeting the most amazing, creative & talented people, if I am working with a Celebrity, Musician, Model, Author, Host, Athlete, Speaker or teaching a makeup class, hosting a beauty pageant, writing for a book or blog, the experiences keep expanding! I have also been blessed to be flown all over the USA and soon internationally to do what I love. Traveling is one of my most favorite things to do its the best learning experience ive ever had. Each day is a blank page where anything is possible! I do it all red carpet, award shows, magazine editorials, film, tv, press, personal clients, music videos, beauty pageants, events, reality shows and more.

How did your career begin in the world of beauty?

I decided I wanted to be a Celebrity Makeup Artist in Hollywood when I was 13 in the little beach town I grew up in, in New Zealand, I decided thats exactly what I want and I will do what ever it takes to make it happen. Its been a crazy rough journey but to create the life of your dreams for your self from nothing when a lot of people tell you that you cant is the most amazing feeling in the world!!

Katrina Final3

How would you describe your signature look and what is it about your style that sets you apart from other makeup artists?

I would say beauty makeup is my specialty helping people look and feel their best! I love really flawless beautiful makeup, smokey eyes, lashes. I love working on all skin tones, I like the variety and challenge. I really listen to my clients and pay attention to what they want, its a collaboration a lot of the time, creating together, which I love. I am very friendly, positive and easy going and keep a calm environment when im working.

What is the most memorable moment you have had while doing someone’s makeup?

I dont think I can say just one there have been so many moments that take my breath away and really touch me! Each experience is so personal and so different, its impossible to compare. As a makeup artist people come to you naked with all their insecurities, our face is what we show the world, image is everything, its very intimate.

James Maslow Cover

What is the most important beauty advice that you can give to women?

To love, accept and embrace yourself and put yourself first, as soon as I started doing that my whole life changed!! Beauty comes from within, never compare yourself to others, there is only one you, so love it and find out what makes you feel amazing, gorgeous, sexy, the best you can and do that often. What you feel on the inside affects every area of your life in the biggest way!! When you feel amazing, confident, sexy etc on the inside then others see you as that on the outside.

What are some common beauty mistakes that women make?

Not loving themselves enough 😉 we beat ourselves up and be perfectionists instead of focusing on the good stuff.

10

Do you feel that looking and feeling beautiful is important in regard to a woman’s confidence and self-esteem?

Yes its everything!!!! When you feel beautiful and good about yourself you can show up in the world in a more empowered way, give more, be more, do more. If you feel ugly, not liking your body etc then you want to hide and play small. Feeling good is so important. When a woman walks into a room who feels beautiful, glows and affects everyone around her in a positive way.

What celebrities have you worked with or want to work with?

Some Celebrities I have worked with rock legend Alice Cooper, Taio Cruz, Mikey Rooney, Tobin Bell (Saw movies), Dawn Richards, James Maslow and DJ Kaskade. I have a wish list of who I would love to work with that is very long! But here’s a few id love to work with Ciara, the Victoria Secret Angels, Iggy, Lana Del Rey, Jessica Alba, Jessica Beil, Eminem, Rhianna, Hayden Paniteirre, Oprah, Ellen Degeneres, JLO and many more!

phone final copy

Who are some people that have inspired you as a makeup artist?

Many people who are doing legendary things in the world inspire me whether its actors, artists, musicians, athletes or authors. I am inspired by people who create the life of their dreams, push the limits of whats possible, do things that the general public think are impossible or people who have overcome extreme challenges. As far as makeup artists a few I love Kevyn Aucoin, Paul Starr, Sam Fine, Pat McGrath, Joyce Bonelli, Scott Barnes, Amy Nadine, Mario Dedivanovic.

Do you see yourself someday creating your own line of makeup?

Im open to it, but I really love writing and would love to be a part of an inspiring book or project to inspire others.

What are some of your favorite products in your makeup kit?

Inglot lip glosses, they smell and look amazing, MAC Face & Body foundation and sculpting powder in Shadowy, ELF Shimmer Pigment in Champagne I use this to high light everywhere and its beautiful on all skin tones, False lashes, they make the hugest difference in really opening up the eyes and look so pretty!! Lorac Oh La Lace Baked Shimmer palette, Lucas Pawpaw Ointment (from Australia), MAC lipstick in Myth is my favorite nude lipstick right now!

Jamilla De Ville Feature

What’s your favorite concealer of all time?

At the moment im loving MAC Pro Longwear concealers, they stay on flawless all day/night. I also am loving Armani concealers and im about to order a bunch of Kevyn Aucoin’s the sensual skin enhancer, ive heard amazing things about it!!

What products do you think should be a staple in every woman’s purse?

An all natural lip moisturizer like Lucas Pawpaw ointment, a tinted lip balm with a bit of color like Revlon lip stain sticks are amazing. A powder compact to touch up shine throughout the day, a great concealer, eye liner, and I always carry a little eyeshadow palette with my favorite go-to shades in it, that I can touch up my eyes with. I know it sounds like a lot but you can fit all of this in a little ‘touch up kit pouch’ and put in your purse, car or at your desk. I also put deodorant, a mini toothbrush, gum and a mini perfume in mine. 😉

Do you believe that sometimes less is more?

Yes definitely because you can always add more. It really depends on the look you are going for and what suits each woman’s individual face best.

What tips can you give to young women who want to start preparing their skin in advance for a special event like prom?

Great skin comes from within so I would say to eat clean, lots of water, fruit & smoothies are awesome for skin, stay away from salt, fried, fatty and processed foods. If you really want to see a difference then eat as natural as possible, your whole body will thank you for it. Then always have a great deep cleaning face scrub so that your skin is smooth and pores are clean. Scrub, tone with a pone minimizing toner or witch hazel from your local drug store, a good moisturizer for your skin type, I personally dont use primers and find moisturizer works best for me as a primer and dont want to be layer a ton of products on the face. Dont get a facial right before your big day because sometimes they leave your skin red, raw, peeling etc. I like to use natural products for skincare because they truly nourish they skin.

Germanys next top model

What message do you have for women out there aspiring to be make up artist?

Anything is possible, you can do anything you want, but it takes a massive amount of blind faith, hard work, motivation, skills, talent and determination, must be willing to do what ever it takes. You really have to absolutely love this to do it as a career, as the hours are very long, unpredictable and you have to pay a lot of dues in the beginning and do a lot of work for free and work your way up but its all possible. Find out where you want to go, what your goals are short and long term, write them out and make them happen. I also really believe in mentors, assisting people who are where you want to be, writing goals and having vision boards.

Where can readers find out more about you and your work?

I would love to hear from people! :)You can connect with me on, ;

Instagram & Twitter as @phoebemakeup

Facebook; https://www.facebook.com/phoebedawsonmakeup .

Website; www.phoebedawson.com www.phoebedawson.tumblr.com

 

 

Phoebe it was an absolute pleasure to interview you! You are truly an amazing individual!

xoxo

One thought on “Voncel’s Reflection Interview with Celebrity Makeup Artist [Phoebe Dawson]

Leave a Reply

